

Trust in the Central Bank and Inflation Expectations

Dimitris Christelis, Dimitris Georgarakos, Tullio Jappelli, and Maarten van Rooij

What Rule for the Federal Reserve? Forecast Targeting Lars E.O. Svensson

The Aggregate and Country-Specific Effectiveness of ECB Policy: Evidence from an External Instruments VAR Approach

Lucas Hafemann and Peter Tillmann

Contagion in the CoCos Market? A Case Study of Two Stress Events

Pierluigi Bologna, Arianna Miglietta, and Anatoli Segura

Risk Shocks and Monetary Policy in the New Normal Martin Seneca

Independent Central Banks: Low Inflation at No Cost?

A Model with Fiscal Policy

Montserrat Ferré and Carolina Manzano

Residential Investment and Economic Activity: Evidence from the Past Five Decades

Emanuel Kohlscheen, Aaron Mehrotra, and Dubravko Mihaljek

Monetary Policy as an Optimum Currency
Area Criterion

Dominik Groll



Dominik Groll

Volume 16. Number 6 December 2020 Trust in the Central Bank and Inflation Expectations 1 Dimitris Christelis, Dimitris Georgarakos, Tullio Jappelli, and Maarten van Rooij What Rule for the Federal Reserve? Forecast Targeting 39 Lars E.O. Svensson The Aggregate and Country-Specific Effectiveness of ECB Policy: 97 Evidence from an External Instruments VAR Approach Lucas Hafemann and Peter Tillmann Contagion in the CoCos Market? A Case Study of Two Stress Events 137 Pierluigi Bologna, Arianna Miglietta, and Anatoli Segura Risk Shocks and Monetary Policy in the New Normal 185 Martin Seneca Independent Central Banks: Low Inflation at No Cost? A Model with 233 Fiscal Policy Montserrat Ferré and Carolina Manzano Residential Investment and Economic Activity: Evidence from the Past 287 Five Decades Emanuel Kohlscheen, Aaron Mehrotra, and Dubravko Mihaljek Monetary Policy as an Optimum Currency Area Criterion 331

The contents of this journal, together with additional materials provided by article authors, are available without charge at www.ijcb.org.

Copyright © 2020 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly (ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge at www.ijcb.org. Changes to hard copy subscriptions and orders should be placed by e-mail at editor@ijcb.org.

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking HS08.20 European Central Bank Sonnemannstr. 22 D-60640 Frankfurt am Main Germany

Phone: +4969134495894 E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

ISSN: 1815-4654

International Journal of Central Banking

Board of Directors

Chairman

Richard Clarida, Federal Reserve Board

Board Members

Ahmed Alkholifey, Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Aïmene Benabderrahmane, Bank of Algeria Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements Jan Bruha, Czech National Bank Paul Castillo, Central Reserve Bank of Peru Lillian Cheung, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Keen Meng Choy, Monetary Authority of Singapore Laurent Clerc, Bank of France Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Troy Davig, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City Michael Dotsey, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia Luci Ellis, Reserve Bank of Australia Eugenio Gaiotti, Banca d'Italia Yong Ha, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Philipp Hartmann, European Central Bank Jonathan Heathcote, Federal Reserve Bank of

Elias Albagli, Central Bank of Chile

MinneapolisBeverly Hirtle, Federal Reserve Bank of New York Elena Iorga, National Bank of Romania Esa Jokivuolle, Bank of Finland Signe Krogstrup, Danmarks Nationalbank Michael Kumhof, Bank of England Thomas Laubach, Federal Reserve Board Ana Christina Leal, Bank of Portugal Carlos Lenz, Swiss National Bank Ye Liu, People's Bank of China

Andre Minella, Central Bank of Brazil Emanuel Mönch, Deutsche Bundesbank Gerard O'Reilly, Central Bank of Ireland Eva Ortega, Bank of Spain Michael D. Patra, Reserve Bank of India Anna Paulson, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago Thórarinn G. Pétursson, Central Bank of IcelandSigal Ribon, Bank of Israel Kasper Roszbach, Norges Bank Glenn Rudebusch, Federal Reserve Bank of San FranciscoKrislert Samphantharak, Bank of Thailand Lawrence Schembri, Bank of Canada Woon Shin, Bank of Korea Ulf Söderström, Sveriges Riksbank Ellis Tallman, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland George Taylas, Bank of Greece Geoff Tootell, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Ken Matsushita, Bank of Japan

Christopher Waller, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis John Weinberg, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Rafael Wouters, National Bank of Belgium Mine Yücel, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Ksenia Yudaeva, Central Bank of Russian

Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland

Hernando Vargas Herrera, Banco de la República

Editorial Board

Managing Editor

Luc Laeven European Central Bank

Co-editors

Tobias Adrian International Monetary Fund Boragan Aruoba University of Maryland Pierpaolo Benigno LUISS Guido Carli Elena Carletti

Bocconi University

Patrick Bolton Columbia University Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University Mark Carev Federal Reserve Board Pierre Collin-Dufresne École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Guy Debelle Reserve Bank of Australia Douglas W. Diamond University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Francis Diebold University of Pennsylvania

Michael Dotsey

Philadelphia

Franklin Allen Imperial College London Charles Goodhart London School of Economics

Federal Reserve Bank of

Huberto Ennis Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond Linda S. Goldberg

Federal Reserve Bank of New York Òscar Jordà

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Associate Editors

Darrell Duffie Stanford University Jordi Galí Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional (CREI) Marvin Goodfriend Carnegie Mellon University Michael B. Gordy Federal Reserve Board Luigi Guiso Einaudi Institute Andrew G. Haldane Bank of England Takatoshi Ito Columbia University David Lando Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane European Central Bank

Advisory Board

Hyun Song Shin Bank for International Settlements John Taylor Stanford University

Sharon Kozicki Bank of Canada Keith Kuester University of Bonn Steven Ongena University of Zurich

Francesco Lippi

LUISS University Carmen M. Reinhart Harvard Kennedy School Hélène Rev London Business School Jean-Charles Rochet University of Zurich Andrew K. Rose University of California, Berkelev Lars E.O. Svensson Stockholm School of Economics Jürgen von Hagen University of Bonn Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden University of Mannheim Tsutomu Watanabe University of Tokyo

Kazuo Ueda University of Tokyo Carl E. Walsh University of California Michael Woodford Columbia University