

Anticipated Alternative Policy Rate Paths in Policy Simulations

Stefan Laséen and Lars E.O. Svensson

A Bivariate Model of Federal Reserve and ECB Main Policy Rates

Chiara Scotti

Interest Rate Smoothing and "Calvo-Type" Interest Rate Rules: A Comment on Levine, McAdam, and Pearlman (2007) Ida Wolden Bache, Øistein Røisland, and Kjersti Næss Torstensen

Does Monetary Policy React to Asset Prices? Some International Evidence

Francesco Furlanetto

The Financial Market Impact of Quantitative Easing in the United Kingdom

Michael A.S. Joyce, Ana Lasaosa, Ibrahim Stevens, and Matthew Tong

Determinants of House Prices in Nine Asia-Pacific Economies

Eloisa T. Glindro, Tientip Subhanij, Jessica Szeto, Haibin Zhu



Volume 7, Number 3	September 2011
Anticipated Alternative Policy Rate Paths in Policy Simulations Stefan Laséen and Lars E.O. Svensson	1
A Bivariate Model of Federal Reserve and ECB Main Policy Rates Chiara Scotti	37
Interest Rate Smoothing and "Calvo-Type" Interest Rate Rules: A Comment on Levine, McAdam, and Pearlman (2007)  Ida Wolden Bache, Øistein Røisland, and Kjersti Næss Torstensen	79
Does Monetary Policy React to Asset Prices? Some International Evidence Francesco Furlanetto	91
The Financial Market Impact of Quantitative Easing in the United Kingdom  Michael A.S. Joyce, Ana Lasaosa, Ibrahim Stevens, and Matthew Tong	113
Determinants of House Prices in Nine Asia-Pacific Economies  Eloisa T. Glindro, Tientip Subhanij, Jessica Szeto, and Haibin Zhu	163

The contents of this journal, together with additional materials provided by article authors, are available without charge at www.ijcb.org.

Copyright © 2011 by the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking. All rights reserved. Brief excerpts may be reproduced or translated provided the source is cited. Consult www.ijcb.org for further information.

The International Journal of Central Banking is published quarterly (ISSN: 1815-4654). Online access to the publication is available free of charge at www.ijcb.org. Individual print subscriptions are available at an annual rate of \$100 (USD).

Print subscription orders may be placed by phone (001 415 974 2035), via fax (001 415 974 2168), or by e-mail (editor@ijcb.org).

Renewals, claims, address changes, and requests for permission to reprint material from this journal should be addressed to:

International Journal of Central Banking Economic Research Department Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco 101 Market Street San Francisco, CA 94105 USA

Phone: 001 415 974 2035 Fax: 001 415 974 2168 E-mail: editor@ijcb.org

The views expressed in this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the Association of the International Journal of Central Banking or any of its members.

ISSN: 1815-4654

# International Journal of Central Banking

#### Board of Directors

#### Chairman

John Murray, Bank of Canada

#### Board Members

Q. Farooq Akram, Norges Bank Abdulrahman Al-Hamidy, Saudi Arabian

Monetary Agency David E. Altig, Federal Res

David E. Altig, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Carlos Hamilton Vasconcelos Araujo, Central Bank of Brazil

Jan Marc Berk, The Nederlandsche Bank Claudio Borio, Bank for International Settlements

Mohamed Tahar Bouhouche, Bank of Algeria Laurent Clerc, Bank of France

Francisco G. Dakila Jr., Central Bank of the Philippines

Spencer Dale, Bank of England

Jean-Pierre Danthine, Swiss National Bank William English, Federal Reserve Board Jiang Feng, People's Bank of China

Jiang Feng, Feople's Bank of China Manuel Ramos Francia, Bank of Mexico Jeffrey C. Fuhrer, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Dong He, Hong Kong Monetary Authority Luis Oscar Herrera, Central Bank of Chile Heinz Herrmann, Deutsche Bundesbank

Tor Jacobson, Sveriges Riksbank Juan F. Jimeno, Bank of Spain George A. Kahn, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

Ali Hakan Kara, Central Bank of Turkey Ana Christina Leal, Bank of Portugal

Philip Lowe, Reserve Bank of Australia Choy Keen Meng, Monetary Authority of Singapore

Loretta J. Mester, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia John McDermott, Reserve Bank of New Zealand Maurice McGuire, Central Bank of Ireland Deepak Mohanty, Reserve Bank of India Vyacheslav Morgunov, Central Bank of

Russian Federation
Edward Offenbacher, Bank of Israel
Fabio Panetta, Bank of Italy
Cipting Bonn, Notingel, But of Removi

Cristian Popa, National Bank of Romania Ivan Ribnikar, Bank of Slovenia Harvey Rosenblum, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Mark Schweitzer, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Arnor Sighvatsson, Central Bank of Iceland Frank Smets, European Central Bank Jan Smets, National Bank of Belgium Peter Birch Sørensen, National Bank of Denmark

Daniel Sullivan, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago Altin Tanku, Bank of Albania Juha Tarkka, Bank of Finland

George Tavlas, Bank of Greece Joseph Tracy, Federal Reserve Bank of New York Dobieslaw Tymoczko, National Bank of Poland Christopher Waller, Federal Reserve Bank

of St. Louis John Weinberg, Federal Reserve Bank

of Richmond

Kei-Mu Yi, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Tomoo Yoshida, Bank of Japan

Eli M. Remolona

(OECD)

# Editorial Board

#### Managing Editor

John C. Williams Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

# Co-editors

 $\begin{array}{l} {\rm Giancarlo~Corsetti} \\ {\rm European~University~Institute} \end{array}$ 

Douglas Gale New York University Harrison Hong Rafael Repullo
Princeton University CEMFI

Andrew Levin Carl E. Walsh Federal Reserve Board University of California

### Associate Editors

Patrick Bolton University of Columbia Michael D. Bordo Rutgers University

Mark Carey Federal Reserve Board

Pierre Collin-Dufresne University of Columbia

Guy Debelle Reserve Bank of Australia

Michael B. Devereux University of British Columbia Douglas W. Diamond

University of Chicago Graduate School of Business

Francis Diebold University of Pennsylvania

Michael Dotsey Federal Reserve Bank of

Philadelphia Darrell Duffie Stanford University Jordi Galí
Centre de Recerca en Economia
Internacional (CREI)
Marvin Goodfriend
Carnegie Mellon University
Michael B. Gordy
Federal Reserve Board
Luigi Guiso
European University Institute
Andrew G. Haldane
Bank of England
Takatoshi Ito

University of Tokyo David Lando Copenhagen Business School Philip Lane

Trinity College Dublin Francesco Lippi University of Sassari

Carmen M. Reinhart University of Maryland Bank for International
Settlements
Hélène Rey
London Business School
Jean-Charles Rochet
University of Toulouse
Andrew K. Rose
University of California,
Berkeley
Klaus Schmidt-Hebbel
Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development

Lars E.O. Svensson Sveriges Riksbank Jürgen von Hagen University of Bonn Ernst-Ludwig von Thadden University of Mannheim Tsutomu Watanabe Hitotsubashi University

## Advisory Board

Franklin Allen
The Wharton School of the
University of Pennsylvania
Charles Goodhart
London School of Economics

Hyun Shin Princeton University Kazuo Ueda University of Tokyo Michael Woodford Columbia University John Taylor Stanford University